History of me on the internet.

This is basically an introduction of sorts.

I’ve had an identity on the internet for the past 10 or so years and can attribute this to much of what I have learnt. Aside from a handful of forums which I occasionally frequent, my initial stomping ground was YouTube.

Growing up I had extremely limited access to computers. In 2000 (age 9) we got a computer and it had dial up internet. Aside from being woefully slow (the computer and internet), it was prone to crashing.

In 2005 or so we got a much newer, quicker computer and I convinced my mother to cancel our subscription to pay TV and get faster broadband. So at age 14 I was opened up to the world of the internet and began learning.

Initially I grew a liking to video editing earlier using my cousins computer and Windows Movie Maker. I made some motocross videos centred around Travis Pastrana when we got our new computer which grew in popularity. I eventually moved on from WMM, Ito Power Director (I think?) and finally to Sony Vegas Pro.

On my YouTube channel (originally titled “KICKERMAN360”), I uploaded a number of motocross videos, primarily about Travis Pastrana. I have always liked motocross / dirt bikes having been influenced by my cousins and actually watched TP attempt a backflip at the X Games 2000 on TV. In addition to my own edits, I also uploaded some X Games footage which was hard to come by at the time.

2000.jpg

Before ripping videos became easy, I had figured out a number of ways to record videos off the internet. One that strikes out more than the others was the old X Games website (EXPN) that had heaps of X Games footage. By chance I stumbled upon it and was able to record the whole event! Instead of numerous smaller clips, the site had one massive file for each event and selecting a link skipped to a certain section. This meant my recordings got all of the behind the scenes / off-air stuff like microphone checks and rehearsals.

I used this footage in my videos with proper credit and also chose to upload the runs as they were broadcast after some requests. Unfortunately this was when YouTube was starting to get hammered with copyright notices and I received two strikes for the unaltered X Games footage. I tried to delete them from my channel but missed one and lost my channel. Whilst initially disappointed it was perhaps a blessing in disguise as I didn’t feel obligated by over 3,500 subscribers. At age 16 though, it was a little disheartening to lose what you worked up to for 2 years or so.

At this time I had considered a career in video editing. I also liked web design by then and had my own website. I also liked to (and still like to today) teach people so I made another channel which showed others what I had learnt.

After the deletion of my original channel, I made a handful of future videos but I had lost my drive. Editing videos is extremely time consuming and I had  highschool and entered University by that time. I would rarely have a solid 6-10 hours free to edit a single 3 minute video. Additionally, I didn’t really want to spend several thousand dollars on a newer computer to be able to edit videos faster.

I did do some web design as I enjoyed the problem solving (also considered a career in this) but ultimately sought a career in civil engineering.

After some successful years on YouTube (making Partner status at the time), having a #1 video in the world once and some stats which are minuscule by today’s standards, the legacy of all that is sometimes (and getting rarer and rarer) noticed on forums as the guy who used to edit dirt bike videos on YouTube.

All in all though, it kept me out of trouble, gave me something to do and helped me learn and improved how resourceful I could be.

After the deletion of my YouTube channel I made a new one and re-uploaded my own edits, youtube.com/kickerfilm. I very, very rarely edit videos but I am still proud of the ones I made with little resources.

The ultimate goal of the YouTube channel was to get noticed and meet with Travis Pastrana. Apparently people used to mention my screen name to him and I also came into contact with his Red Bull representative at the time, Thomas (can’t remember his last name). Eventually I tracked down his personal email by luck and a few nice people and he replied and said he was aware. He even liked them so that was gratification. I eventually met the man in real life however did not reveal I was the internet pseudonym, KICKERMAN360.

Leave a Reply

